Summer, anyone?

I have been afflicted once again with May Fever.  It strikes about the second week of May every year, and by Memorial Day I’ve developed a pretty significant twitch.  May Fever stresses me out and makes me irritable.  I itch all over and struggle with mild insomnia and a profound lethargy.  I used to think that once I graduated from college the malady would go away, but it returned with a vengeance once I became a teacher myself.  The symptoms vary somewhat, but it is still the Fever.  Now I experience it as a mother.  I think that may be the worst of all!  Watching your child endure May Fever is not only heart breaking but infuriating.  The cure is simple; all I have to do is put up with it until the last day of school!!! 

Reagan is thoroughly sick of school and homework and projects and deadlines, and her parents are just as tired.  We’ve learned how to spell at least a million words, memorized hundreds of Math facts, English grammar rules, Bible verses, state capitals, and on it goes.  The alarm has become our mortal enemy, and keeping Reagan focused long enough to study everything she needs for an upcoming test would try the patience of a saint! 

I cannot wait for this current school year to be over!  We say that every May, of course.  If there was a vaccine for May Fever, I would gladly pay whatever it costs.  Ugh!!

About Janet Mackey

I am a wife, mother, Elementary school Art, Music, and Spanish teacher, and new novelist! We live in Tyler, TX where my husband pastors a small Presbyterian church. My daughter, Reagan, is eleven, and plays basketball and soccer. We share our happily cluttered and busy home with two cats, Max and Dixie, and a Schnauzer/terrier mixed breed named Rusty. In addition to writing, I love to read, scrapbook, quilt, cook, and sing, not necessarily in that order! Thanks for taking a look at my newly acquired blog. Post a comment; I'd love to know what you're thinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment